Fold Form Inprovisation

Whilst trying to create a new fold form that looked like this:

IMGP1336

With almost 1mm thick card I soon ran into problems. Firstly I got the pattern wrong and seeing as it was a fairly large piece of card it seemed a shame to waste all that hard work measuring and scoring.

Secondly I realised that it was probably not possible to make the fold i wanted due to the thickness of the card.

A bit disheartened after my realisation I found myself reluctant to let it go. After fiddleing with it for a while I found a few forms I quite liked and one that worked very well that I ended up glueing into place. It ended up looking like this:

 

I found that this small experience made me think about my work as a whole and that perhaps when things go wrong I should not be so quick to dismiss them and let myself become disinterested. Stick with it just that bit longer and you may find some other unintended victory. I was reminded of a famous quote by Descartes

“You just keep pushing. You just keep pushing. I made every mistake that could be made. But I just kept pushing.” – Rene Descartes

 

Leave a Reply

