Making Glaze Test Tiles

I want to gain some glaze making and using experience and to get my kiln induction signed off by using the test kilns. I decided the best way to approach this was to make some glaze experiment test tiles to inform me which glazes I would like to use for future work.

IMGP2372 IMGP2340 IMGP2342

So I made some 28 glaze test tiles from St. Thomas White stoneware. Next I want to make a range of different stoneware glazes – perhaps 8 – 10 different ones to experiment with and start building up a test tile collection/library with which to inform my glaze choices for my ceramic pieces of work that I am planning.

Leave a Reply

