3-D Scanning Lecture and Workshop with Ingrid Murphy

Ingrid began today’s session with a short lecture about her work and its relation (continually changing) relationship to technology. The rate of technological advancement is astounding with incredible leaps being made every few months in several fields at once. One thing that came across in the lecture was a desire to place her work well into the field of “technologically related art-work” (My own clumsy term there). To be a part of rapidly accelerating fields such as the 3-D scanning, 3-D printing and augmented reality. It’s an exciting time to be a creative practitioner or artist equipt with good computing and technological knowledge which can be used to manipulate the world and objects we have around us. I want to consider some of these themes and ideas for my dissertation.

I felt for some time that I want to better understand this young new technological world that is evolving around us, how it works, how to use it, how to manipulate it for myself and others. It’s important to me now that I learn to code at least to a basic ability, learn how to apply physical computing to the real world and allow new technologies into my creative practise whether it be integral to the process or the outcome. Ingrid’s lecture today reinforced these thoughts and ideas that I’ve been having and I left the session feeling quite uplifted and inspired.

Notes from lecture to expand upon and research

  • MOOK
  • RFID
  • Spime – research of Bruce Sterling
  • Postscapes – IoT website
  • Michael Edan – 3D printing and craftsman
  • Sculpturis – a modelling programme
  • Sketchfab – of which I am now a member since this afternoon.
  • IFTTT

Stuff to look at for next week:

  • Aurasma – set up an account
  • Augment – good for 3-D models
  • Aestheticodes.com – paid for AR app/service?

We used the Sense 3D scanner today. It is a handheld unit. A bit temperamental when your unpractised with it but when you got it right the scan came out pretty well. The only thing I had a problem with was the lighting and moving the unit steadily. Once the scan was complete it was sent into mesh-mixer where holes were patched and the object file made solid. From there it is exported to Makerbot and then 3D printed on a Makerbot Replicator 2. The print went badly half way through, I will try it again sometime soon if I get time.
image

image

Leave a Reply

