Rusting Solution

image

This is a steel sample that I have tried out my rusting solution on. I want to patina (or maybe just rust in this case) the outside of my steel bowls a deep orange brown colour. I found the recipe online on the website instructables.com where the author of the tutourial suggests using white vinegar (60ml) and a teaspoon of salt to a larger proportion of hydrogen peroxide (450ml). I did not measure but rather guessed the ratio.  When applied to the steel via a loaded brush the reaction is startlingly quick, with an audible hiss a bright yellow flares up almost immediately fading more slowly to an orange and then a dull brown.
It has workes very well and I am immensely impressed with the results!

Leave a Reply

