Ultimaker2 – My First Print

image

Today I am trying out one of the new Ultimaker2 3D printers in the soft modelling room at the uni. It is reputed by others to be significantly better than the Makerbots with much simpler and user friendly complimentary software. I did not find makerbot software hard to use mind. I am printing an interesting object I found on thingiverse, a Fractal Spiraling Network. Its a hyperbolic object. I am interested in using mathematical and digital means to create complex forms and structures that can be made. I would like to make them with Rapid Prototyping techniques. I hace been looking at parametric design, algorithmic and generative modelling.  They are very specific and skilled fields with lots of maths so I need to assess what I would actually be able to do in these areas in terms of learning and my timescales!

Leave a Reply

